Accessing arrays that are object properties

Hi all,

I’m starting the Mixed Messages project and I’m stuck. I assigned 3 variables for 3 arrays with my strings in that I’ll later pick out at random, but I’m struggling to access the array’s length property.

So far I have…

const arrays = {
‘countries’ : [‘England’, ‘Italy’, ‘France’],
‘capitals’ : [‘London’, ‘Rome’, ‘Paris’],
‘leaders’ : [‘Boris Johnson’, ‘Sergio Mattarella’, ‘Emmanuel Macron’]
};

let randomCountry = arrays.countries()

arrays.countries.length() won’t work obviously. I’m not sure what to do and can’t find any other resources online. Any help/advice would be appreciated. I’m new to coding and struggle with JavaScript a little.

Cheers,
Ben.

Hey Ben how are you doing?

If you paste your code inside a Codebyte is easier to help you out. Remember it for next time :wink:

So here’s your code:

const arrays = { 'countries' : ['England', 'Italy', 'France'], 'capitals' : ['London', 'Rome', 'Paris'], 'leaders' : ['Boris Johnson', 'Sergio Mattarella', 'Emmanuel Macron'] };

The object declaration is fine and we can print anything we want:

To access any single item you do it with the square brackets notation:

This line, is not correct unfortunately as countries is an array not a function:

let randomCountry = arrays.countries()

Hi! All good thanks! Thank you for replying.

That’s great, thank you. How would I go about accessing the length of each array? If the array was outside the object I could simply do say countries.length() could I not? The tip said to include all arrays in a single object so it’s thrown me a little. I think I may take them out of the object…

Yes. If the array is the property of an object, you simply have to include the object in your reference.

Hint:

The syntax would look like:
object['property'].length

const myObject = {
  'array1': [1, 2, 3, 4],
  'array2': [5, 6, 7, 8, 9]
};

console.log(myObject['array2'].length);
1 Like