Many of you know, if you are away from Codecademy for a while, a pop-up asks if you are still there and if you’d like to
get back to coding – this feature allows us to spend fewer computing resources on inactive users. However, many of you have reached out to us to point out that you have been disconnected from Codecademy even when you are actively working on the platform. We looked into this, and it turns out this was happening because we were only counting users as “active” if they were actually writing and submitting code. It turns out that, particularly with our new courses and Pro Intensives, there’s a lot of things you’re doing in our Learning Environment that don’t involve writing code!
After today’s deploy, we’re taking things like mouse movement, scrolling, and keyboard usage into account, so active users shouldn’t get disconnected anymore!