A Day in the Life: Sylvana Santos, Codecademy Software Engineer

This month, we’re featuring Sylvana Santos who works on Codecademy’s software engineering team. Fascinated with the intersection of education and technology, Sylvana is in her dream job at Codecademy. Outside of Codecademy, Sylvana enjoys taking her bunny for a walk, watching and playing soccer, cooking herself a nice meal, or practicing yoga!

Meet Sylvana! :star:

Tell us a little about yourself.

Hi there! My name is Sylvana, and I’m a software engineer at Codecademy. I was born and raised in Los Angeles, but now I live in Brooklyn with my bunny, Pepper. I love watching and playing soccer. I can’t wait until I can play with Codecademy’s team! Other than that, I enjoy cooking (but more so eating), thrifting, and watching tiny house videos.

How did you end up working for Codecademy?

Codecademy was a dream company for me. During college, I became fascinated with the intersection of education and technology. I was inspired by the many ways that people were using tech to address gaps in our education system. I wanted to be a part of that revolution, so when I learned about Codecademy and its mission, I was thrilled! After I graduated from Fullstack Academy, I applied for the Codecademy apprenticeship, and more recently, I made the transition to full time. I feel so blessed to be working here, and I can say that it has lived up to all my expectations.

Did you always want to be a software engineer?