A Day in the Life: Kip Price, Codecademy Engineering Manager

This month we’re featuring Kip, an Engineering Manager on Codecademy’s Learner Experience team. Kip has a deep curiosity in and a solid practice of creative problem-solving, which makes them a highly effective manager and programmer.

Meet Kip! :upside_down_face:

Tell us a little about yourself.

Hey! I’m Kip, and I’ve been programming since I was 8 years old. I first got into coding as a way to build video games (since I wasn’t allowed to play any), but I learned along the way that what I really love doing is building cool things with code, especially if they make people’s lives easier or more creative.

How did you end up working for Codecademy?

I’ve been a longtime user of Codecademy, and when my spouse and I decided to move to New York (where Codecademy is headquartered), I was thrilled to learn that Codecademy was looking for more engineering managers to join the team.

Did you always want to be an Engineering Manager?

Definitely not. I didn’t even know I wanted to be an engineer until I graduated high school, and even then, I thought of coding more as a hobby than as a career. It was only after I had started working full-time as an engineer that I realized that I really enjoyed it. When I was first asked to step into a management role, I was really dubious that I’d like it as much as I liked building software, but after a few months of actual management under my belt, I found it even more satisfying than being an engineer. That was around 6 years ago, and I’ve never looked back.

What are the best aspects of working as an Engineering Manager?