A Day in the Life: Jake Hiller, Codecademy Staff Software Engineer

This month we’re featuring Jake, a long-time Codecademy engineer. At first, Jake didn’t have plans to be a software engineer but with a strong interest in electronics, encouragement from peers, and a lot of perseverance, Jake now finds himself 11 years into a rewarding and fulfilling career as a Software Engineer.

Meet Jake! :grimacing:

Tell us a little about yourself.

Hi, I’m Jake! I’ve been working as a Software Engineer for 11 years, and I’ve spent the last 5 years as a Front-end Engineer at Codecademy. I’m originally from Philadelphia, and now I live in the New Jersey suburbs, about a 45-minute train ride away from the Codecademy Office in NYC. I went to school for Graphic Design, and my first job was as a Web Designer. While I was there I started to learn Front-end development, and I was hooked immediately. I transitioned to working as an engineer full time and haven’t looked back.

How did you end up working for Codecademy?

In 2011 when Codecademy was launched, I was still learning how to code at my first job, so I created an account and tried it out pretty much immediately. I’m primarily a visual learner, so having an interactive way to learn to code online seemed like a perfect product for me at the time. The fact that Codecademy was trying to teach people in a way that resonated with me personally definitely stuck with me a few years later when I got the opportunity to interview at Codecademy.

Did you always want to be a Staff Software Engineer?