A Day in the Life: Jack Ratner, Codecademy Software Engineer

This month, we’re featuring Jack– a software engineer, engineering manager, and long-time Codecadem-ian.

Meet Jack! :dizzy:

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m Jack. I work as a software engineer at Codecademy. In my 3.5 years here, I’ve built a variety of features and worked extensively on our learning content management and creation tools. I’ve also spent a year as an engineering manager here as well. Outside of work I always have a coding project I’m tinkering on. They never work perfectly, but I’ve learned so much with each one I took on. I also have volunteered helping high school students learn web programming and loved it.

How did you end up working for Codecademy?

A friend working at Codecademy at the time told me about a software engineer opening here. I was the only engineer at a tiny startup at the time and was really excited to work on an engineering team with more than a couple people (I think we were around 9 people when I started, now we’re at ~80) and work on a product that impacted a large number of people.

Did you always want to be a Software Engineer?

Absolutely not! I went to a liberal arts school where I wanted to study Physics or Philosophy. I took an intro to programming class in Java there and didn’t look back. I liked my course work well enough, but it was working on side projects with my peers that made me excited to pursue a coding-related career.

What are the best aspects of working as a Software Engineer?