A Day in the Life: Alisha Grama, Codecademy Curriculum Developer

This month, we’re featuring Alisha Grama, an associate curriculum developer at Codecademy.

Meet Alisha! :mountain_snow:

Tell us a little about yourself.

Hey, I’m Alisha, and I’m an associate curriculum developer at Codecademy!

For a little bit about me, I moved around quite a bit as a kid, but I was born in Austin, Texas, and mostly grew up in Massachusetts. My family loves to travel, and I’ve been to over 40 countries. I love driving around, baking, reading, and listening to music. I’ve always been into building things, starting with LEGOs when I was a kid. I worked a lot with robotics and eventually found that my favorite part was the coding.

I majored in CS and minored in Ethics at the University of Rochester, a school which I primarily picked due to the cold weather (I’m a HUGE fan of snow and winter). I also appreciated their approach to learning where there were no classic gen-ed requirements, allowing students to study what they actually wanted to study.

How did you end up working for Codecademy?

I was teaching in NYC, and looking to transition into EdTech, but only if I found a company and position that I was passionate about. I googled “EdTech NYC,” and Codecademy was the first result. It was the perfect intersection of coding and education for me. I applied immediately, and two months later I was here!

Did you always want to be an Associate Curriculum Developer?

I always knew that I wanted to be in education, and I knew that I loved computer science. I’d used Codecademy when I was in college, but I’d never thought I’d end up working there. It’s the kind of job that’s such a perfect fit that I never imagined it could actually exist.

What are the best aspects about working as an Associate Curriculum Developer?