8. Practice Makes Perfect string/integer error

Hello! This is my first time posting. Having fun trying to figure out these challenges.

I'm at lesson 8:
Instruction: A greeter method that takes a single string parameter, name, and returns a string greeting that person. (Make sure to use return and don't use print or puts.)

The method is accepted but when I call the method, I get the error code: Oops, try again. Your code threw the following exception: can't convert String into Integer, and I'm not figuring out what I'm doing wrong.

Hopefully some other eyes will see what's amiss!

Many thanks.

def greeter(name)
    return "Hello, " *name
end

puts greeter("Joe")

Hi Shawn, and welcome to the forums!

Your error says it can't convert a string into an integer. A string is basically words and an integer is basically a number, right?

Ok, so your error is telling you you're trying to turn your string into a number... i.e., there's some kind of unacceptable math operation going on here. Does this hint give you a push in the right direction?

frisby

Look at 2nd line you multplying instead of "+"

Thanks for the hint. Yah, I'm still getting my head to wrap around the idea of strings and math operations being in the same sentence, LOL.

So using + in this case is like saying (in English):
return the string "Hello" and the value of the parameter
yes?

yes think like adding two string instead of multiplying

Here is a starter... :

def greeter (name)
    print "Hey, #{name}!"
end

You will have to add another def though...
Hope it helps. :slight_smile:

No problem! It can definitely be a little weird in the beginning.

Yes; if you ever had to play with these horrors in maths, you can imagine a piece of paper that says "Hello, " pasted on one block and name on the other.
To add them all you have to do is smash them together, but there is no clear route to multiplying one block by another (visually speaking).