8/8 Making sure learning is occuring

Hello all,

I am fairly new to programming and ruby. This lesson has been the toughest one so far for me so I would like to make sure that I have grasped the information given in this lesson. Below I have my code and the comments that go along with what I think is going on. There are a couple of questions that I have after the code. Please feel free to correct me and provide me with your collective wisdom.

*************************************************************************************
#puts a string on the screen
puts "please insert some text:"

=begin
collects input (using "gets" command) from the end user (while ".chomp" method deletes the line break) saves it under the variable text
=end
    text = gets.chomp

=begin 
splits the text into an array using a space as the indicator
=end
    words = text.split(" ")

=begin
a new blank hash is created with a default value of 0 and saved under the variable frequencies
=end
frequencies = Hash.new(0)

=begin
we take the array created previously by the splitting of the text through the use of the .split method and for each element we increase the value by 1
=end
words.each {|x| frequencies[x] += 1}

=begin
frequencies is set equal to frequencies.sort_by which takes each key and value and sorts it by the value
=end
frequencies = frequencies.sort_by do |word, count| count

=begin
ends the block of code that needs to be executed for each key => value pair_
=end
end

=begin
takes current values of frequencies and reverses it making the first value the one that is used the most
=end
frequencies.reverse!

=begin
frequencies is iterated to take each word and count and puts it onto the screen for the end user to see, and what they will see is the word followed by a space and the count of how many times it is used then the block ends_
=end
frequencies.each do |word, count|
    puts word + " " + count.to_s
end