7. Instantiation Nation

Okay. I've been tweaking this, trying everything, looking at other people's problems but I haven't got anywhere. I really don't know what could be the problem. Please help me, thanks.

class Computer
def initialize(username,password)
@username = username
@password = password

@files[username] = password
end
def Computer.get_users
    @@users = users

my_computer = Computer.new("peter1",5776)
end
def create(filename)
    @time = Time.now
    puts "A new file was created with username #{username} and password #{password}"
end

end

Don't make random changes or look at what other people wrote without knowing what you're looking for. Instead consider how your code behaves differently from what you want it to do, that's what says what you need to change

Well thanks for the advice, but I realise that I should know the code through and through, but at this stage I really don't, I'm still learning. I have followed the instructions carefully and I cannot understand why it's not working. Peer review and experimentation is only a last minute resort, as is posting here. Please don't take this the wrong way but some more substantial guidance would be more useful.

No, really. That's the next thing you should do. Run it and consider what it's doing differently from what you want.

If you don't know how to address that difference, then that's something you can ask about - you'd want to explain that difference, show what you tried so far.

You seem to be saying that you're aimlessly changing things up seeing if it has an effect. Why would it? Gotta start by identifying the problem, and then fix that (without touching anything else)

If your code is just slipping away from you, no clue what's going on, then that's some kind of knowledge debt. You need to start at some end, identify a problem, re-read instructions to figure out what that part of the code should be doing, learn about how to do that something, fix that code.. and move on to the next problem.