5. factorial

def factorial(x):
    num = 1
    while x >=1:
        num = num * x
        x -= 1
    return num

My question is more related to the process of learning programming. The code above is correct.

So, I spent about an hour or more trying to write a function to get the Factorial of a number. After great difficulty and numerous failures, I decided to look up what a skilled programmer would do to factor a number in python. I did not copy and paste the code, I studied it for about 5 minutes until I understood the logic (logic I could not arrive at on my own). Then I walked away from the computer for about 10 minutes to make sure I didn't remember exactly what the code looked like.

Then I came back and typed in the code above AND understood.

So I guess my question would be:
Is this a good way to learn programming? Should I have spent some more time trying to come up with that answer (or a similar one) entirely on my own? Or over time will just making sure I understand the intuition behind it be enough to make me learn programming?

I think it's important for you to understand logic, with practice you'll eventually be able to find logic on your own, I'm still in process of learning, but more I practice I'm more able to find some logic on my own, sometimes it's wrong but I think it's important that you can come up with something

Yeah, I'm stuck on the next one too. Checking prime numbers. This one is difficult for me also.