else if(isNaN(number) == true) {
return "a string";
}
else {
return "number is not even"
};

};

isEven(25);

So it works properly but it says "Oops, try again. Your function returns true for 3!". Why?
Thank you!

@miculdemon,
Try it with

var number;
   var isEven = function(number) {
   if (number % 2 === 0) {
        return true;
   }
   else if(isNaN(number) == true) { 
       return "a string";
   }
   else {
      return false;
   };

};

console.log( isEven(25) );

As an after-thought,
wouldn't it be better to test isNaN() before doing any arithmetic....??!?

Thank you very much, it works now, but I still don't understand what I was doing wrong. Is it because in the if I made it to return a boolean and in else I returned a string? I am a beginner, can you explain a little more, please? Thank you!

In (1) the instructions
Write an if / else statement inside the isEven function. It should return true; if the number it receives is evenly divisible by 2. Otherwise (else), it should return false;.

Make sure to return - don't use console.log()!

In (2) the instructions
Add an else if branch to your existing if/else statement. If the number put into the function is not a number at all, instead of return true; or return false;, the function should return a string that tells the user that their input isn't a number. (This string can say whatever you like.)

Of course, how silly of me. :blush:

Thank you!

var isEven = function(number) {
  // Your code goes here!
  if (isNaN(number)) {
      return "That input is not a number";
  } else if (number %2 === 0) {
      return true;
  } else {
      return false;
  }
};

isEven("42");

This works as well. Checking whether isNaN is true in the if statement can be simplified further to simply if (isNaN(number)) since the default is true.