16/33 Wouldn't this make more sense...?

In this lesson about Methods they create a Method (or what looks to me like a function) called setAge using the "this" keyword inside of it to set the new age of whatever Object calls it. The way they show it looks like this...

var setAge = function (newAge) {
this.age = newAge;
};

var bob = new Object();
bob.age = 30;

bob.setAge = setAge;

bob.setAge(50);

But my questions is this: wouldn't it make more sense to use this "this" keyword in the name/set-up of the function/method itself that way you can skip the step of "bob.setAge = setAge;". The way I see it, the code should look like this...

this.setAge = function (newAge) {
this.age = newAge;
};

var bob = new Object();
bob.age = 30;

bob.setAge(50);

I'm relatively new to this so please let me know if there is a reason that this doesn't work because it seems logical to me.

Thanks!

It won't fly.

this.setAge = function (newAge) {
this.age = newAge;
};

var bob = new Object();
bob.age = 30;

bob.setAge(50);

First off, what is this in,

this.setAge = ...

? Answer: window. We have essentially what we started with:

setAge = ...

When we try to run the method on bob, it will throw an error:

bob.setAge(50);

It will tell us, TypeError: bob.setAge is not a function.

The only way we can have this method work on the object is to make it a property in the same context.

bob.setAge = setAge;

We are assigning a function reference, not a computed return value. If we log out the bob.setAge property, we can see...

console.log(bob.setAge.toString());

we get,

function (newAge) {
    this.age = newAge;
}

I was wondering that as well. Is it allowed in Java and not JS? I vaguely remember being able to do something like this in another language. Also, do you have to make that assignment statement for each object and each method or is there a cleaner way of writing the code in JS? Seems like that could get pretty lengthy and spider-web-ish.