15. Why are methods important? Do Objects have global scopes? Idk if that questionn makes sense

https://www.codecademy.com/en/courses/spencer-sandbox/2/3?curriculum_id=506324b3a7dffd00020bf661

var bob = new Object();
bob.age = 17;
// this time we have added a method, setAge
bob.setAge = function (newAge){
  bob.age = newAge;
};

bob.getYearOfBirth = function () {
  return 2016 - bob.age;
};
console.log(bob.getYearOfBirth());

var getYearBorn = function() {
    return 2016 - bob.age;
    };
console.log(getYearBorn());
console.log(bob.age);

/*I don't know why a function I created called getYearBorn can do a methods job, even though it says that functions can only take parameters. getYearBorn did the same thing as getYearofBirth, even though it seems like lesson 13 is stating that functions can't do a methods job. I'm new to JS, so please forgive me if I have a huge gap in my logic. I'm just lost on this topic.*/

It looks like the function you created is also a method?
This post has a better explanation than I can give!

That's what I was thinking. Thanks for the confirmation.

Short answer, methods (relative to their objects) are important because properties are static, where a property cannot get information dynamically, such as a property referencing another property of the same object, a method can, and return a dynamic & live value. If you update the property a method is pointing to, it'll reflect that new value each time, because a method is a function that runs when called. A property is like a variable, after it's been declared, it stores that value. Aside from that it just won't self reference the object.