15. median - Please help!

When I run my code, i get the error message:

Oops, try again. median([1]) returned 0 instead of 1

it should take a list of numbers and sort them and then return the middle number (or if the set of numbers is even, return the middle two)

I am very new to python, and all help is appreciated! :slight_smile:

def median(x):
    s = sorted(x)
    l = len(x)
    r = 0
    for i in s:
        if l % 2 == 0:
            r = l / 2 + l / 2 - 1 / 2.0
        else:
            r = l / 2
    return r
print median([1,2,3,4,4])

So you're pretty close. Your issue is that you need to have r relate to the indices in s, because right now you're just returning numbers and not relating back to the original list at all. For example, your else statement should be:
else:
r = s[l/2]

Hopefully that helps, I got your code to work with just a couple small adjustments so you're on the right track.

Thank you so much! I've been looking around the forums for this one a little and then doing my code. This one is definitely a challenge! :slight_smile:

I changed a few things, and know I am getting 3.5 instead of 4.5.

def median(x):
s = sorted(x)
l = len(x)
r = 0
for i in s:
if l % 2 == 0:
r = l / 2 + l / 2 - 1 / 2.0
else:
r = s [l / 2]
return r
print median([4,5,5,4])

So you will still have to modify the if statement as well as the else. Again, it's only spitting out a number, not an index in s. Can you think through how you would modify your if statement to make the code work?

It has to be the length of the sorted list, not the original list maybe? If so would i have to change what the l stores here?:

l = len(x)

Not quite, the length of the list isn't changing, just the order. What do we want the function to do? We want it to check if the length of the list is even. If it is, we want it to take the values from the two indices in the middle and average them. Otherwise, just print the middle index.