11. Count

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python/lessons/practice-makes-perfect/exercises/count?action=lesson_resume

Im not very good at coding so i ask a lot of questions to see where i messed up at. What do i put in the code to make it execute what it needs to? It’s saying that it is not returning the correct total.

def count(sequence, item):
  total = 0
  for item in sequence:
    if sequence == item:
    	total += total + item
  return total

You are over-increasing the total.

Notice there are two plus signs and an equal sign. That is all the operations that are going to take place with that statement.

>>> a = 0
>>> a += a + 5
>>> a
>>> a += a + 5
>>> a
>>> a += a + 5
>>> a
>>> a += a + 5
>>> a
>>> 

The key to this is recognizing the expression, a + 5. What ever value a holds will be incremented by 5. Now we take that value and return it to a += (expression value) and you see where this is going.

The purpose of the compound operator, += is to help us avoid this exponential growth, and concentrate upon the linear step value.

a += 5

Now we have what can be trusted to increment a in step values of 5.

Aside

We can build a term generator factory function for any step value and term n (sort of; need to iron out some details)…

>>> def a_plus_d_seq(d):
    def seq(n):
        a = list(range(n + 1))
        for i in range(n):
            a[i + 1] = a[i] + d
        return a[n]
    return seq

>>> fives = a_plus_d_seq(5)
>>> fives(0)
>>> fives(1)
>>> fives(2)
>>> fives(3)
>>> fives(4)
>>> 

Ironed out. Term n will indeed be correct where n > 0 and term 1 is 0.

>>> def a_plus_d_seq(d):
    def seq(n):
        a = list(range(n + 1))
        for i in range(n):
            a[i + 1] = a[i] + d
        return a[n - 1]
    return seq

>>> fives(4)
>>> fives(1)
>>>

Taking it a bit further, let’s return the term, and the sequence up to that term…

>>> def a_plus_d_seq(d):
    def seq(n):
        a = list(range(n + 1))
        for i in range(n):