def check_bit4(i):
    i = bin(i)
    m = 0b1000
    if i&m>0:
        return "on"
    else:
        return "off"

Can someone explain why this didn't work? The error I got was

Does your check_bit4 function take exactly one argument (an integer)? Your code threw a "unsupported operand type(s) for &: 'str' and 'int'" error. As per the instructions, I was presuming I would get an integer as an input and therefore would have to convert the int to a bin

Thanks

The thing about input is - you should never presume what the input is, therefore type checks should be made (just to be sure). In this case (as you've probably guessed), the & operator can't work on 'str' and 'int'.

If you check out the definition of the function bin in the python documentation, the result of that function is always binary string. So you input int in bin and as a result you get string.
Hopefully this explained it!

Ah ok - that does clear it up.

Thanks!

maybe my question is very basic, cause I'm new to this bitwise world...can somebody explain to me about this "bits are on or off" I don't really get it..and we use it for what ?...duh, getting hard now..i guessed..:cry:

A particular bit is "on" when it's 1 and it's "off" when it's 0. Think of a regular light switch - it can be in one of two states - ON or OFF. 1 or 0. On a very low-level every computer operates with 0's and 1's to transfer and compute data. So essentially, everything (strings of texts and numbers for example) can be (and is!) translated into 0's and 1's. The bitwise operators allow you to "operate" on variables (strings of texts and numbers for example) via manipulation of their bits.

Here is what worked for me:

input = 0b1000
mask = input
def check_bit4(input):
    desired = input & mask
    if desired > 0:
        return "on"
    else:
        return "off"

check_bit4(input)