10. Censor

I am getting the error message:
Oops, try again. Your function fails on censor("hey hey hey","hey"). It returns "hey hey hey" when it should return "*** *** ***".

The code is supposed to censor a word and replace it with asterisks. I'm fairly new to Python, and I am not sure what I did wrong.

def censor(text, word):
    word = word.split()
    final = []
    for i in word:
        if i == word:
            final += "*" * len(i)
            return text.join(final)
        else:
            return text

print censor("hey hey hey", "hey")

Hi, @geckosrock ,

Here, you have overwritten the function parameter, word, with the result of applying split() to word...

word = word.split()

Instead, you need to divide up text, which contains the words that need to be tested. You can do this as follows, placing the words into a words list ...

words = text.split(" ")

Now, you can iterate through words ...

for i in words:

Inside the loop, you have a test ...

if i == word:

If i and word are equivalent, append the censored word, as asterisks, to the final list ...

final.append("*"*len(word))

... but do not return anything, just yet.

If, on the other hand, i and word are not equivalent, append the actual item to the final list, still not returning anything ...

final.append(i)

Then, after the loop has completed all its iterations, put the items in the final list back together and return the result ...

return " ".join(final)

Make sure to get the indentation right on the return statement, so that it is not part of the loop.

Let us know how it works out.

Thank you so much!!! I did everything you said, and now the code works perfectly! Thanks for spending the time to figure out the problems! You guys are awesome! :slight_smile:

One quick question: What do the quotation marks do in these two lines?

words = text.split(" ")

return " ".join(final)

Are they maybe adding spaces between the returned asterisks?

" " is a space character.