10/15 - Is this ok?

Hey there,

i am completely new to python and/or programming as a whole and i obviously still don’t even understand what i am doing ^^

could someone please tell me if my solution is okay or if there are any problems with it? i altered it for quite some time now … and that kinda got me really confused, to the point i was about to quit trying…i am not sure if for example all lines are necessary.

def censor(text, word):
  word_list = text.split()
  cen_list = []
  length = len(word_list)
  for i in range(0,length):
    if word_list[i] in word:
      cen_list.append("*" * len(word))
    else:
      cen_list.append(word_list[i])
  result = " ".join(cen_list)
  return result

Greetings from Austria and thanks in advance!

PS: sorry for any major mistakes in my post, it’s not my native language (and it isn’t python either :smile: )

Looks good to me, if I was to look for things to complain about:

• 4 spaces preferred over 2 (by pep8 which is what the python community usually refers to for style)
  • Calling range with one argument starts at 0 and counts up to that value, making 0 unneccessary
  • You don’t specifically need to know the positions, so rather than iterating over a list of indexes, loop over the list of words
  • rather than creating a variable for the result, return the result of the expression directly

If each and every thing has a purpose you can argue for then it’s all good

Oh. This I actually disagree with, because it’s wrong/doesn’t say the right thing. I could give an example where it gives unexpected results

Thanks for the extremely fast reply, ionatan

I was wondering about the 4spaces indents, since i am pretty sure even codecademy mentions something along those lines. i just went with the 2 spaces since that is what hitting enter gave me :smiley:

soo

if word_list[i] == word

would be the right one?