__init__

I'm a beginner, and I've been trying to wrap my head around classes. I've read things like "init is called automatically every time an instance object is created."

So is init defined explicitly in a class strictly on the occasions when we want each of our instance objects to have more variables? Does it exist only for that purpose?

`

Hi @wrosen02 ,

The __init__ method can be designed to perform any actions that you would like to occur when a new instance object is created. In most cases, this would involve assigning values to variables that apply to that new instance. However, it could involve other actions, as well, such as incrementing a counter that keeps track of the total number of instances that have been instantiated for that class, or might involve printing something to the console. In fact, you do not have to set up any variables at all if you do not deem it necessary to do so. Just write the __init__ method to perform any actions that you decide are appropriate when a new instance is created.

Thanks. Recently stumbled on this example:

class Point(object):
    def __init__(self,x = 0,y = 0):
        self.x = x
        self.y = y

def distance(self):
        """Find distance from origin"""
        return (self.x**2 + self.y**2) ** 0.5

Why, in the parantheses of the init method, are x and y both given the specific value 0? Would this work if they weren't?

As a default, yes, in case no parameters are given to a new instance. Consider,

a = Point()
print a.distance()    # 0.0

The point in geometry would be known as the Origin.

b = Point(3,4)
print b.distance()    # 5.0

Thanks for the reply. So they are set to zero in case no parameters are given to a new instance. If they weren't:

class Point(object):
def init(self, x, y):
self.x = x
self.y = y

then creating a new instance b = Point(0, 0) and calling the distance method would give an identical result, right?

b = Point(0, 0)
print b.distance()